David Bowie 1990-08-10 Dublin ,The Point Depot

David Bowie 1990-08-10 Dublin ,The Point Depot

David Bowie 1990-08-10 Dublin ,The Point Depot

01 – *Not Recorded* – Ode to Joy
02 – *Not Recorded* – Space Oddity
03 – *Not Recorded* – Rebel Rebel
04 – *Not Recorded* – Ashes To Ashes
05 – *Not Recorded* – Fashion
06 – (Cut) Pretty Pink Rose
07 – Stay
08 – Blue Jean
09 – Let’s Dance
10 – Sound & Vision
11 – Ziggy Stardust
12 – China Girl
13 – Station To Station
14 – Young Americans
15 – Suffragette City
16 – Fame
17 – “Heroes”
18 – Panic In Detroit
19 – White Light/White Heat
20 – Modern Love

Source: Ripped By TrvisBckle63
Source: (Unknown Hi8 Camera)
Lineage : Master Hi8 Tape (Filmed By Derek Carroll) –
Taping Gear: Sony DCR TRV230 (Playback) – Datavideo TBC-3000 (TBC) – Blackmagic Design Intensity Pro – VirtualDub (UT Lossless Codec) – TMPGEnc Authoring Works 6 (Track Menu With Correct Chapter Points)
Video: PAL, 720×576 (4:3) Video Bitrate 8000 kb/s (Variable)
Audio: PCM Stereo 16bits 48.0 kHz
Size: 4.93GB Dual Layer DVD
Running Time: 70 mins (Aprox)


9 and 10 August 1990 at The Point Theatre, Dublin

Review: Dave Fanning

This was better than anyone expected, and at least as good as we’d hoped. With an awesome yet deceptively simple stage show designed for outdoor arenas or at least for venues that can hold 15,000 plus, Irish fans were treated to the best in sound and vision from the man who electrified the ‘70s and who, let’s face it, has slummed it throughout the ‘80s.

But the self-importance of presenting a “Greatest Hits” package did not manifest itself in the form of half-hearted renditions of perpetually resonant songs or embarrassing attempts at high-concert dramatics.

Instead, Bowie felt he had a right to give a selection from his impressive scrapbook, honest, impassioned and sometimes crudely-honed (usually courtesy of guitarist,

Adrian Belew) interpretations. The result was usually electrifying and often exhilarating.

From the opening – an acoustic driven “Space Oddity”, delivered more as a basic song than some sort of prophecy – he set the standard for the evening. “Rebel Rebel” and “Ashes to Ashes” followed and we all settled down to the most satisfying rock cabaret we are ever likely to see.

The silk screen, lowered and raised repeatedly, predominantly featured enormous projected images of Bowie and a female dancer. Technically, this was pretty awesome and thankfully, it was never intrusive.

The music was always upfront and the sheer spectacle which was rounded out by the industrial stage props and the huge TV screens at either side (which, incidentally, were comically over-the-top in the perfect synchronicity stakes) left Bowie driving a stake through the heart of The Glass Spiders.

The music always had a very definite sense of historical authenticity. He was able to shift personae without relying on costume changes or physical manipulation and the stylish period touches were well judged.

Overall, there are reasons to be cynical, especially when discussing sequencers, samplers and tapes, but I wasn’t in a cynical mood and I’m going back for more tonight.

David Bowie Tour band 1990 – Sound+Vision Tour
Bowie specifically chose a smaller band for the tour, saying in a contemporary interview that “It’s a much smaller sound. It’s not quite as orchestrated as any of the other tours. The plus of that is that there is a certain kind of drive and tightness that you get with that embryonic line-up, where everybody is totally reliant on the other two or three guys, so everybody gives a lot more”
David Bowie – vocals, guitar, saxophone[
Adrian Belew – guitar, backing vocals, music director
Erdal Kızılçay – bass guitar, backing vocals
Rick Fox – keyboards, backing vocals
Michael Hodges – drums

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie 1990-09-27 Santiago ,Estadio Nacional (TV broadcast analogue) David Bowie 1987-11-13 Sydney ,Entertaiment Centre.