David Bowie 1983-07-25 New York ,Madison Square Garden (Blackout Archives) – SQ 7,5

David Bowie 1983-07-25 New York ,Madison Square Garden (Blackout Archives) - SQ 7,5

David Bowie 1983-07-25 New York ,Madison Square Garden (Blackout Archives) .
Sound Quality Rating

101. Jean Genie Intro.flac
102. Star.flac
103. “Heroes”.flac
104. What In The World.flac
105. Golden Years.flac
106. Fashion.flac
107. Let’s Dance.flac
108. Red Sails.flac
109. Breaking Glass.flac
110. Life On Mars.flac
111. Sorrow.flac
112. Cat People.flac
113. China Girl.flac
114. Scary Monsters.flac
115. Rebel Rebel.flac
116. White Light White Heat.flac
217. Station To Station.flac
218. Cracked Actor.flac
219. Ashes To Ashes.flac
220. Space Oddity.flac
221. Band Introductions.flac
222. Young Americans.flac
223. Fame.flac
224. TVC 15.flac
225. Stay.flac
226. Jean Genie.flac
227. Modern Love.flac

Label : From the Blackout Archives
Audio Source : audience
Lineage : Cassettes (unknown gen) –> TEAC Tape Deck w600r
Total running time : 1:53:12
Sound Quality : Much noise ,dull ,but still good listened to
Attendance : 19.250
Artwork : None

Clear,full of sound and the masses of the enthusiastic audience are well audible.
During the songs one can hear the cries swelling,which imparts a good at­ mosphere to the tape.
After Space Oddity Bowie does some palavering which is totally unintelligible. Then “L’ d like to introduce my band to you tonight. On synthesizers & piano David Lebolt. On saxo­phones Lenny Pickett,Stan Harrisson and Steve Elson. All from New York. This one’s from New York as well,guitar Carlos Alo­mar” and he jests: “Now this guy comes from New York,on bass Carmine Rojas. And from New York Tony Thompson on drums. There is a New Yorker here,Earl Slick on lead guitar”. The audience love it and scream their heads off. “A couple of foreigners here,on backing vocals .from New York,Frank and George Simms. As you probably know I was born in New York” Bowie says! Then he says something about Philadelphia and Young Americans,but the yelling of the audience drown this. A very good concert,

Description: First night at Madison Square Garden in 1983.
Good sound on this, a bit different than most ’83 tapes in that it has a lot of audience on it, but that does not distract from the music. Like Steveboy I am also a fan of the shows that contain Red Sails, and this is one of those shows.
China Girl has a small cut in it, as does the very end of Fame, but the whole song is there.
On the whole a very decent show that captures the 1983 audience hysteria very well! There are long pauses in between some numbers which leads you to believe that Bowie was soaking in the audience adulation. From the Blackout archives.

David Bowie Tour band 1983 – The Serious Moonlight World Tour :
David Bowie – lead vocals, guitar, saxophone
Earl Slick – guitar
Carlos Alomar – guitar, backing vocals, music director
Carmine Rojas – bass guitar
Tony Thompson – drums, percussion
Dave Lebolt – keyboards, synthesizers
The Borneo Horns:
Steve Elson – saxophones
Stan Harrison – saxophones, woodwinds
Lenny Pickett – saxophones, woodwinds
Backing vocals
George Simms – backing vocals
Frank Simms – backing vocals Frank Simms – backing vocals

David Bowie World Convention 1983
David Bowie – 1983 Souvenir Serious Moonlight Tour

(Visited 190 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie 1983-07-13 Montreal ,Montreal Forum – Serious Moonlight – (SBD ,Swinging Pig)  – SQ 9,5 David Bowie 1983-07-26 New York ,Madison Square Garden – Second Night Of Serious Big Apple Moonlight – SQ 8,5