David Bowie 1974-10-10 Madison ,University of Wisconsin – Somebody Up There Likes Me – (Vinyl) – SQ 6,5

David Bowie 1974-10-10 Madison ,University of Wisconsin - Somebody Up There Likes Me - (Vinyl) - SQ 6,5

David Bowie 1974-10-10 Madison ,University of Wisconsin – Somebody Up There Likes Me – (Vinyl).
Sound Quality Rating

01 – Rebel Rebel.mp3
02 – John I’m only dancing.mp3
03 – Sorrow – Changes.mp3
04 – 1984.mp3
05 – Moonage daydream.mp3
06 – Young American.mp3
07 – Can you hear me.mp3
08 – Rockn Roll Suiside.mp3
09 – Somebody up There likes me.mp3
10 – Footstompin.mp3

Label: MIW Records ‎– MIW 20
Audio Source: audience
Total running time: 0:46:34
Sound Quality : Not good ,much Noise ,very dull
Attendance: ???
Artwork: Yes.

This is but the third concert of the Soul Tour,
Bowie Announces the new numbers of the Young Americans set: “Here are some very new songs. We’ve just recorded them. And they’re for an album that won’t be out until next year,so we’re gonna play them for ya now. This one is called Young Americans”. And Can You Hear Me: “This song is for girls. Yes,here’s a love song. I don’t write many love songs”. At the beginning of Rock & Roll Suicide Bowie says: “This is the first time that we’ve been here,and we’re coming back,haha!”. The audience cheer,but on the whole one cannot hear much of the audience : This tape has a rather direct sound. “You’re not alone,helieve it” Bowie sings,and gets visibly emotional. “All you gotta do is win! Win! Loose? Win ,yeah!” he sings passionately,and at the end of the song he calls out “Oh you’re wonderful,I bless ya! I love ya! I’ll see you again soon! I mean it”. The audience applaude and the announcer says: “Ladies and gentlemen ,Mr Bowie has left the theatre”,but this last bit is missingon this tape.

 R-6517790-1421075932-6502.jpeg copy R-6517790-1421075940-5999.jpeg copy

IMG_6923 copy“IMG_6924

The Tour Band – The Soul/Philly Dogs Tour (October–December)
• David Bowie – vocals
• Mike Garson – piano, mellotron, music director
• Earl Slick – lead guitar
• Carlos Alomar – rhythm guitar
• David Sanborn – alto saxophone, flute
• Willie Weeks – bass
• Dennis Davis – drums
• Pablo Rosario – percussion
• Warren Peace – backing vocals
• Ava Cherry – backing vocals
• Robin Clark – backing vocals
• Anthony Hinton – backing vocals
• Diane Sumler – backing vocals
• Luther Vandross – backing vocals

(Visited 1,316 times, 1 visits today)

2 thoughts on “David Bowie 1974-10-10 Madison ,University of Wisconsin – Somebody Up There Likes Me – (Vinyl) – SQ 6,5”

  1. Fascinated by this year of Bowie, this sound. The soul, the fractured soul of a genius. The Gouster album, the abandoning somewhat of the Diamond Dogs setup. The idea of Bowie at least in his words as performing solely as a singer-songwriter for a spell. All this and more, leading to the eventual minor downfall in 1976. This is a beautiful site, tried to leave a comment earlier. If this is merely a duplicate, disregard, however I can not stress how amazing this site is. If one would be able to share access to one of these 1974 shows, I would be thankful.

  2. Would be very interested in hearing this recording, the second half of 1974 tour is absolutely fascinating to me. Just got my hands on Blue Eyed In Boston and it’s amazing. If this recording or one of lesser quality were shared with me, I would be highly thankful.
    Excellent site beyond a doubt.

Leave a comment

David Bowie 1974-09-11 San Diego ,Sports Arena (SK – alternate source) – SQ 6 David Bowie 1974-10-10 Madison ,University of Wisconsin (SK- 2nd gen) (RAW) – SQ 6,5