David Bowie 2004-04-16 Berkeley ,Community Theatre (off Master) – SQ -9

David Bowie 2004-04-16 Berkeley ,Community Theatre (off Master) - SQ -9

David Bowie 2004-04-16 Berkeley ,Community Theatre (off Master) –  
Sound Quality Rating

01. Intro.flac
02. Rebel Rebel.flac
03. New Killer Star.flac
04. Battle for Britain.flac
05. Fame.flac
06. Cactus.flac
07. Fashion.flac
08. All the Young Dudes.flac
09. China Girl.flac
10. The Supermen.flac
11. Never Get Old.flac
12. The Loneliest Guy.flac
13. Modern Love.flac
14. The Man Who Sold the World.flac
15. Hallo Spaceboy.flac
16. Sunday.flac
17. Heathen (The Rays).flac
18. Under Pressure.flac
19. Days.flac
20. Afraid.flac
21. Ashes to Ashes.flac
22. Quicksand.flac
23. I’m Afraid of Americans.flac
24. “Heroes”.flac
25. Slip Away. (With The Polyphonic Spree) .flac
26. Changes.flac
27. Suffragette City.flac
28. Ziggy Stardust.flac

Label : No label
Audio Source : Audience recording
Lineage : DAT Master
Taping Gear : Schoeps CCM4’s > Aerco > SBM-1 > Sony PCM-M1
Taper: Unknown
Recording Location: Unknown
Total running time : 2:22:42
Sound Quality : Good. Equals record or radio/TV apart from a slight noise and some dullness.
Attendance : Unknown
Artwork : None


The first of 2 nights in Berkeley

During the day, the Polyphonic Spree played their harp, and guitars in the park over the road from the venue, while some of them played Frisbee. Chilling out in the sun, watching them, was a cool way to prepare for the first of two shows at the Berkeley Community Theatre. Sterling even came out and joined them for a few minutes, playing the harp for a few seconds. Talented boy!

Bowie was wearing a plum coloured velvety coat this evening over his usual crinkled looking one. Starting with Rebel Rebel as usual, he welcomed the crowd as “you Berkeley motherfuckers” and asked “Are you having a good time so far?” New Killer Star followed and then Battle for Britain (The Letter) which was nice to hear again. After a rousing Fame, Bowie said “a spiffing evening to you all”. He then spoke about the importance of The Pixies and their reformation before introducing Cactus.
Sniffing the air Bowie said knowingly, “Hmmm, I’m not the only one who’s been to the botanical gardens today!” They did a great version of Fashion next before he started rambling with “You heard my Alabama pronunciation of Floooor-wah then? Don’t be so forthcoming about things” He paused slightly before asking the crowd, “Would you care to forthcome with me?” I’m sure most people in the audience would answer yes to that question!!

All The Young Dudes got some hands swaying in the air, which Bowie acknowledged with “You’re awfully good sports, don’t ya know”. That was apparently his impression of an American doing an impression of an Englishman. Before China Girl, he praised the crowd for their participation, as is the norm these days seemingly, and advised that we could join in on the next song. Then told us he would do it in Chinese! Well, he managed the first two lines, although the second ended with the lyric “dim sum” which, although I don’t speak Chinese, I’m sure isn’t right. Nah, back to the English version then.

“We’re doing a couple of new songs tonight that we haven’t done before” Bowie announced. He started talking about the 60’s and sex, saying that sex hadn’t existed in Britain before the sixties and that people just saw of materialised before that. “That’s when I wrote this twerpish goth stuff”. Ha ha, what a great way to describe “The Supermen”. Kat played guitar on this one and it was excellent, he even got all the words right! Nice to hear since the last time was 1997. Bowie was rather amused by his own lyrics, particularly the Unithought. “What’s a unithought? Is it like a unicycle?” (while pretending to mount a bicycle) “Here’s a nice thought, I’ll get on that one!”

Never Get Old was great, I always love that one, followed by The Loneliest Guy and Modern Love. Bowie told security to let people dance, “I know you’re making it safe and everything but let people dance if they want to”. This caused a great cheer from the crowd. “My brother, god rest his soul, he’s dead now, but he used to dance in the cinema in the 50’s. I’m sure we’ve moved on from then”. Very subtle David. The next few songs were played with virtually no banter in-between. After Heathen, Bowie handed earplugs down to people in the front section, throwing the last couple of pairs in the air saying “I’ve got past doing my social work now”. He introduced the band and told us “You don’t know how silly this tour has been. We’re having a ball”. Good to know he’s enjoying it, cos we certainly are!

Under Pressure brought the usual cheers and Days was a nice follow on, a great, mellow song. After Afraid Bowie said “There’s a point in the show when I have to do a song you know, I got away with 4 then – I’m a right little artful dodger!” The crowd obliged with the “Oh no you’re not”, Bowie responding “Oh yes I am”…etc. Ashes to Ashes was the one we apparently knew. He obviously didn’t see me singing along to The Supermen. Oh well ‘o). “There’s an album I made, oh, too long ago to care, called Hunky Dory” – this was the introduction to Quicksand. Then with two more songs, the first set ended, with David talking about humanity and how he was touched by it all, the reactions at shows and stuff.
The first encore was Slip Away which was a special version as he brought on the Polyphonic Spree to join in, Tim actually singing the second verse. “They’ve got one life to live and they’re gonna fuckin’ live it!” Bowie shouted. Great, and they are cool. Three more songs, and it was time to go home. Great first show, bet the second one will be different as it’s the same venue. Roll on!
Tune back in tomorrow for more from Charly… thanx so much for all that, girl.
A Reality Tour continues tonight with a second show at the Berkeley Community Theatre.


David Bowie Tour band 2003-2004 A Reality Tour

A Reality Tour was a worldwide concert tour by David Bowie in support of the Reality album. The tour commenced on 7 October 2003 at the Forum Copenhagen, Denmark, continuing through Europe, North America, Asia, including a return to New Zealand and Australia for the first time since the 1987 Glass Spider Tour. Bowie retired from performing live in 2006, making this tour his last.

The tour grossed US$46 million, making it the ninth-highest-grossing tour of 2004.

The Tour band
David Bowie – vocals and acoustic guitar
Earl Slick – lead guitar
Gerry Leonard – guitar, backing vocals
Gail Ann Dorsey – bass guitar, vocals
Sterling Campbell – drums, percussion
Mike Garson – keyboards, piano
Catherine Russell – backing keyboards/backing vocals

Start date 11 June 2002
End date 23 October 2002


(Visited 941 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie 2004-04-13 Portland, Rose Garden Arena – Come Out Of The Garden Baby ! – SQ 8,5 David Bowie 2004-04-17 Berkley ,Community Theatre SQ 8,5