David Bowie 1997-08-06 Leeds ,Town & Country Club – War Of The Roses – (off master) – SQ 8,5

David Bowie 1997-08-06 Leeds ,Town & Country Club - War Of The Roses - (off master) - SQ 8,5

David Bowie 1997-08-06 Leeds ,Town & Country Club – War Of The Roses – (off master)  
Sound Quality Rating

01. Quicksand.flac
02. The Man Who Sold the World.flac
03. Queen Bitch.flac
04. My Little School Girl.flac
05. Jean Genie.flac
06. I’m Afraid Of Americans.flac
07. Battle For Britain.flac
08. Fashion.flac
09. Seven Years In Tibet.flac
10. Fame.flac
11. Outside.flac
12. Band Introductions.flac
13. Stay.flac
14. Looking For Satellites.flac
15. Under Pressure.flac
16. The Heart’s Filthy Lesson.flac
17. Hallo Spaceboy.flac
18. Scary Monsters.flac
19. Little Wonder.flac
20. Encore Call.flac
21. Dead Man Walking.flac
22. White Light White Heat.flac
23. O Superman.flac
24. Look Back In Anger.flac

Label : No label
Audio Source : Audience recording
Lineage : Unknown
Taping Gear : Unknown
Taper: Unknown
Recording Location: Unknown
Total running time : 1:53:27
Sound Quality : Good. Equals record or radio/TV apart from a slight noise and some dullness.
Attendance : Unknown
Artwork : By Soloca 2004

Wednesday the 6th of August 1997, it was; a balmy evening outside, sweltering inside; the sense of expectancy, especially once you had fully absorbed the fact that very soon you would be stood less than 15 feet away from the great man, palpable. Reeves Gabrels on guitar, Gail Ann Dorsey on bass, Zachary Alford on drums and the seemingly perennial Mike Garson on keyboards were already on stage as this ethereal vision appeared to float into view from stage left.
Dressed in a brilliant white shirt slashed to the navel, improbably blonde, bronzed and handsome, wreathed in beatific smiles and strumming the opening chords to Quicksand on an acoustic guitar, this really was the man who fell to earth. For all the world this surely was David Bowie stood before us, but it could equally have been some alien from outer space such was the otherworldliness of this being and its presence.
In many respects what ensued barely mattered, as this experience could surely never be repeated or bettered. But Quicksand was followed, naturally, by The Man Who Sold The World. And Queen Bitch was then followed by The Jean Genie in what was, and probably still is, the strongest fusillade of four songs to ever open any show.
The rest of the performance was dominated by songs from Earthling, the album that the tour was there to promote. I’m Afraid Of Americans was edgy, sinister and paranoid whilst the melody of Hallo Spaceboy was still rattling around in my brain for days afterwards such was the all-consuming power of its thunderous groove. But the entire evening still remains to this very day completely consumed by that grand entrance.


David Bowie Tour band 1997 Earthling Tour
Superb Bowie Performance From The Earthling Tour. David Bowie’s 20th studio album was originally released in February 1997 on Arista Records. Earthling showcased an electronica-influenced sound partly inspired by the industrial and drum and bass culture of the 1990s. It was the first album Bowie self-produced since 1974’s Diamond Dogs.

The Earthling Tour started on 7 June 1997 at Flughafen Blankensee in Lübeck, Germany, continuing through Europe and North America before reaching a conclusion in Buenos Aires, Argentina on 7 November 1997. On August 14, ‘97, Bowie performed at Hungary’s Student Island Festival in Budapest, where he put on a quite extraordinary show, accompanied as he was by Reeves Gabrels on guitar, Gail Ann Dorsey on bass, Zack Alford on drums and Mike Garson on keyboards. Playing just a few tracks from the new record plus a fine selection of back catalogue gems, the entire show was broadcast, both across Eastern Europe and indeed in the US too on selected FM stations. Previously unreleased this remarkable gig is now available on this priceless CD for the first time..

The Tour band
David Bowie: vocals
Reeves Gabrels: guitar, backing vocals
Gail Ann Dorsey: bass guitar, vocals
Zachary Alford: drums
Mike Garson: keyboards, backing vocals
Mike Garson: keyboards,

(Visited 154 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie 1997-08-01 Birmingham ,Que Club (DAT recording) – SQ 8,5 David Bowie 1997-08-09 Dublin ,Olympia Theatre  (off Master 100PCB) – SQ 8,5