David Bowie 1974-10-30 New York ,Radio City Hall – The Missing Link – SQ 7

David Bowie 1974-10-30 New York ,Radio City Hall - The Missing Link – SQ 7

David Bowie The Missing Link – Soul Tour Compilation ,Detroit 16.10.74 + New York 30.10.74.
Sound Quality Rating

01. Intro – New York 30.10.74
02. Space Oddity – Detroit 16.10.74
03. Rebel Rebel – New York 30.10.74
04. John I’m only Dancing – New York 30.10.74
05. Sorrow-Changes – New York 30.10.74
06. 1984 – New York 30.10.74
07. Moonage Daydream – New York 30.10.74
08. When You Rock and Roll With Me – Detroit 16.10.74
09. The Jean Genie – Detroit 16.10.74
10. Diamond Dogs – Detroit 16.10.74
11. Young Americans – Detroit 16.10.74
12. Can You Hear Me – Detroit 16.10.74
13. Footstompin’ – New York 30.10.74
14. It’s Gonna Be Me – Detroit 16.10.74
15. Somebody Up There Like Me – New York 30.10.74
16. Suffragette City – New York 30.10.74
17. Rock and Roll Suicide – New York 30.10.74

Label: From The Hunky Geordie Tapes – HUG097CD
Audio Source: audience
Total running time: 1:23:21
Sound Quality: Much noise ,dull ,but still good listened to
Attendance: Detroit 16.10.74 : ???
Attendance: New York 30.10.74 : 6.200
Artwork: By steve23yh.

david-bowie-the-missing-link-inner1 david-bowie-the-missing-link-backdavid-bowie-the-missing-link-inner2david-bowie-the-missing-link-inner3

note by Pimm Jal de la Parra:
According to Fletcher’s book,The Missing Link is a double bootleg LP,composed of three different Soul tour tapes of Oc­tober 1974; it even features a print of the sleeve of the disc. Funny thing though: no one seems to possess The Missing Link and no one ever saw it! Nevertheless this tape ,wich is­ supposed to be a recording of the LP,has been circulating for years now. Since I wanted to find out from which three concerts the disc had been extracted,I compared each song of concerts the tape with all other Soul Tour tapes. I discovered that the tape is a compilation of the Detroit 16-10 and New York 28-10 tapes. The numbers marked (I) arc from the DetroiL tape,those marked (2) from the NY tape. Odd,l thought,The Missing Link was supposed to be composed of three different tapes,and this one is made up of two. Even funnier is the fact that this tape certainly does not sound as if it were taken from a record: in between numbers there are long pauses and lots of surface sound and rumbling. So my conclusion is: The Missing Link never did appear for some reason, and this is anything but a taping from an LP. Someone has just concocted it himself. The person saw in Fletcher’s book what numbers it should contain and,using his Detroit and New York tapes,made this tape and brought it into circulation as a genuine tape of The Missing Link. This is my theory; should there be anyone who-does posess a copy of the album,please let me know.:

The Tour Band – The Soul / Philly Dogs Tour (October–December)
• David Bowie – vocals
• Mike Garson – piano, mellotron, music director
• Earl Slick – lead guitar
• Carlos Alomar – rhythm guitar
• David Sanborn – alto saxophone, flute
• Willie Weeks – bass
• Dennis Davis – drums
• Pablo Rosario – percussion
• Warren Peace – backing vocals
• Ava Cherry – backing vocals
• Robin Clark – backing vocals
• Anthony Hinton – backing vocals
• Diane Sumler – backing vocals
• Luther Vandross – backing vocals

(Visited 948 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie 1974-11-24 Philadelphia ,Spectrum Theater – SQ 6,5 (mp3) David Bowie 1974-09-05 Los Angeles ,Universal Amphitheater – Wealth And Authority – SQ -9