Limited Edition David Bowie LPs Planned for Record Store Day

Parlophone is releasing limited edition David Bowie LPs ‘Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974)’ and ‘Bowpromo’ for Record Store Day.

Parlophone has planned two limited edition David Bowie releases to commemorate the 10th anniversary of Record Store Day. As Pitchfork reports,Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) has never been released, while Bowpromoreplicates a 1971 small-run pressing of alternate mixes of some of the songs that made it on to Hunky Dory.

Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) was recorded live at Universal Amphitheatre on September 5th 1974 during the Philly Dogs Tour. While some of the material also appeared in the Cracked Actor BBC documentary, the forthcoming triple vinyl, five-sided album contains the full concert. The sixth side houses an etching of the Diamond Dogs-era Bowie logo.

Mixed by longtime collaborator Tony Visconti, the set features a new band lineup and set list that differs from Bowie’s 1974 David Livealbum, and includes vocals from Luther Vandross.

Bowpromo is a single-sided release that recreates a rare 1971 pressing that featured seven Bowie tracks on its A-side, with five songs that ended up onHunky Dory.



Both limited-edition releases will be available during Record Store Day on April 22nd.

Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) Track List

Side 1:
1. “Introduction”
2. “1984”
3. “Rebel Rebel”
4. “Moonage Daydream”
5. “Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing”

Side 2:
6. “Changes”
7. “Suffragette City”
8. “Aladdin Sane”
9. “All the Young Dudes”
10. “Cracked Actor”

Side 3:
11. “Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me”
12. “Knock on Wood”
13. “It’s Gonna Be Me”
14. “Space Oddity”

Side 4:
15. “Diamond Dogs”
16. “Big Brother”
17. “Time”

Side 5:
18. “The Jean Genie”
19. “Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide”
20. “John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)”

Recorded live at Universal Amphitheatre, Los Angeles on 5th September 1974. Produced by David Bowie. Mixed by Tony Visconti at Human Studios, NYC in October/November 2016.


David Bowie – vocals, guitar, harmonica

Earl Slick – guitar

Carlos Alomar – guitar

Mike Garson – piano, Mellotron

David Sanborn – alto sax, flute

Pablo Rosario – conga

Doug Raunch – bass

Greg Errico – drums

Backing vocals – Warren Peace, Anthony Hinton, Luther Vandross, Ava Cherry, Diane Sumler and Robin Clark.




BOWPROMO was originally pressed in very small quantities in 1971 and it features alternate mixes of some of the songs that would eventually be released on the Hunky Dory album.

The A-side contained seven Bowie tracks, relatively new material at the time, five of which would appear on Bowie’s next album, Hunky Dory. On the B-side were five tracks recorded by another artist on the GEM roster, Dana Gillespie.

This RSD, one-sided release faithfully replicates the original promo featuring Bowie’s seven tracks plus five exclusive Bowie prints and new sleeve notes regarding the original promo, all housed in a special presentation box.

Bowpromo Track List

1. “Oh! You Pretty Things”
2. “Eight Line Poem”
3. “Kooks”
4. “It Ain’t Easy”
5. “Queen Bitch”
6. “Quicksand”
7. “Bombers/Andy Warhol Intro”

Produced by Ken Scott (assisted by The Actor), mixed by Ken Scott at Trident Studios, London.


David Bowie – vocals, guitar, piano, phased piano

Mick Ronson – guitar, vocal

Trevor Bolder – bass

Woody Woodmansey – drums

Rick Wakeman – piano on Kooks and Quicksand

(Visited 329 times, 1 visits today)

2 thoughts on “Limited Edition David Bowie LPs Planned for Record Store Day”

  1. Hi Neil,
    In principle, every record store that participates in Record Store Day on 22-4:
    greeting Diedrich

Leave a comment