David Bowie Never Let Me Down (1987)

David Bowie Never Let Me Down (1987)

Never Let Me Down is the seventeenth studio album by David Bowie, released in April 1987 by EMI America. Bowie conceived the album as the foundation for a theatrical world tour, writing and recording most of the songs in Switzerland. He considered the record a return to rock ‘n’ roll music. Three singles were released from the album, “Day-In Day-Out”, “Time Will Crawl” and “Never Let Me Down”, the first two of which were top 10 hits around the world.

Track listing
The album was one of the first to feature different length versions on vinyl and CD, with almost all the songs appearing on the latter having a longer running time than on the former.

All songs written and composed by David Bowie (except where noted).

No. Title
01. “Day-In Day-Out” 4:38
02. “Time Will Crawl” 4:18
03. “Beat of Your Drum” 4:32
04. “Never Let Me Down” (Lyrics by Bowie, Music by Bowie and Carlos Alomar) 4:03
05. “Zeroes” 5:46
06. “Glass Spider” 4:56
07. “Shining Star (Makin’ My Love)” 4:05
08. “New York’s in Love” 3:55
09. “’87 and Cry” 3:53
10. “Too Dizzy” (Lyrics by Bowie, Music by Bowie and Erdal Kızılçay) 3:58
11. “Bang Bang” (Iggy Pop, Ivan Kral) 4:02

Total length:48:06

The track “Too Dizzy” has been deleted from subsequent reissues of the album, reportedly at Bowie’s request because it is his least favourite track on the album.

1995 – Virgin Records rereleased the album on CD with three bonus tracks.

No. Title
11. “Julie” B-side to the single “Day-In Day-Out” (1987) 3:45
12. “Girls” (Extended Edit) (Bowie, Kızılçay) B-side to the single “Time Will Crawl” (1987) 5:38
13. “When the Wind Blows”(Lyrics by Bowie, Music by Bowie & Kızılçay) From the When the Wind Blows soundtrack (1986) 3:36

EMI released the second reissue in 1999 featuring 24-bit digitally remastered sound but no bonus tracks, and also without “Too Dizzy”.

A 2007 Japanese re-release of the album, based on the EMI 1999 re-issue, included “Too Dizzy” on the track listing although the song itself doesn’t appear on the CD.

In 2009, the album was re-issued in SHM-CD format. The reissue had the same track listing as the 2007

Video clip Top of the Pops – Time Will Crawl 1987

David Bowie – vocals, guitar, keyboards, tambourine, background vocals
Carlos Alomar – guitar, guitar synthesiser, tambourine, background vocals
Erdal Kızılçay – keyboards, drums, bass, trumpet, background vocals, violins
Peter Frampton – lead guitar
Philippe Saisse – piano, keyboards
Carmine Rojas – bass
Earl Gardner – flugelhorn
Crusher Bennet – percussion
Stan Harrison – alto saxophone
Laurie Frink – trumpet
Steve Elson – baritone saxophone
Lenny Pickett – tenor saxophone
Robin Clark, Loni Groves, Diva Gray, Gordon Grodie – background vocals
Sid McGinnis – lead guitar on “Bang Bang”, “Time Will Crawl” and “Day-In Day-Out”
Mickey Rourke – mid-song rap on “Shining Star (Makin’ My Love)”

(Visited 550 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie Tonight (1984) David Bowie Black Tie White Noise (1993)