David Bowie 1978-04-05 Oakland ,Coliseum Arena – Fearful Hands – SQ7+

David Bowie 1978-04-05 Oakland ,Coliseum Arena - Fearful Hands - SQ7+

David Bowie 1978-04-05 Oakland ,Coliseum Arena – Fearful Hands –
Sound Quality Rating

101 Warszawa.flac
102 “Heroes”.flac
103 What In The World.flac
104 Be My Wife.flac
105 The Jean Genie.flac
106 Blackout.flac
107 Sense Of Doubt.flac
108 Speed Of Life.flac
109 Breaking Glass.flac
110 Beauty And The Beast.flac
111 Fame.flac
201 band introductions.flac
202 Five Years.flac
203 Soul Love.flac
204 Star.flac
205 Hang On To Yourself.flac
206 Ziggy Stardust.flac
207 Suffragette City.flac
208 Rock’n’Roll Suicide.flac
209 Art Decade.flac
210 Station To Station.flac
211 Stay.flac
212 TVC 15.flac

Label: from The Hunky Geordie Tapes – HUG104CD
Audio Source: audience
Lineage: TDK SA90 tapes x 1Ω (Arocrman) > Denon DRM-500 tape deck
Total running time: 1:41:51
Sound Quality : Much noise ,dull ,but still good listened to
Attendance: 14.200
Artwork: by steve23yh
Note: Rebel is missing from the tape

It is a good tape,
but in spite of it’s good sound quality it is hard to understand what Bowie says when he is addressing the audience,e.g. after Fame,when he says more than just the information that there will be a 10-minute break. “Good evening San Francisco” he says,when after the intermis­sion he has returned on stage,“I’d personally like to – ah, well thank you very much! – I’d like to introduce you to the members of the band”,and after this intro he says some more, but that is unintelligible. In a very low voice,almost whispe­ring, Bowie says: “W’ll continue with a selectior. of very old songs” and the audience respond with enthusiasm which gets even greater when Five Years begins.

 david-bowie-fearful-hands-HUG104CD-frontos david-bowie-fearful-hands-HUG104CD-frontis david-bowie-fearful-hands-HUG104CD-backos david-bowie-fearful-hands-HUG104CD-backis

Tour band 1978 – The Low and Heroes World Tour :
David Bowie – vocals, chamberlain
Adrian Belew – lead guitar, backing vocals
Carlos Alomar – rhythm guitar, backing vocals (music director)
George Murray – bass guitar, backing vocals
Dennis Davis – drums, percussion
Roger Powell – keyboards, synthesizer ,Moog Taurus bass pedals ,backing vocals (except 11–14 November 1978)
Dennis Garcia – keyboards, synthesizer (11–14 November 1978 only)
Sean Mayes – piano, string ensemble, backing vocals Simon House – electric violin
Simon House – electric violin.


Tape flip between Breaking Glass and Beauty and the Beast. Fade out/in, but start of latter is clipped


Tape flip at 1:34 in Station To Station – simply removed gap with minimal loss of music
Further gap in Station To Station at 1:47 – removed, but small amount of music lost

No sign of Rebel Rebel on tapes



(Visited 707 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie 1978-12-09 Osaka ,Banpaku Kaikan – East – SQ 7+ David Bowie 1978-05-15 Hamburg ,Congress Centrum – Congress – SQ 7