David Bowie 1974-07-16 Boston ,Music Hall – Subway – (Vinyl Rip Stranger09) – SQ -8

David Bowie 1974-07-16 Boston ,Music Hall - Subway - (Vinyl Rip Stranger09) - SQ -8

David Bowie 1974-07-16 Boston ,Music Hall – Subway – (Vinyl Rip Stranger09).
Sound Quality Rating

01. Rock n Roll With Me.flac
02. Space Oddity.flac
03. Future Legend – Diamond Dogs.flac
04. Panic In Detroit.flac
05. Big Brother – Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family.flac
06. Time.flac
07. The Width of A Circle.flac
08. The Jean Genie.flac

Label: Flat Records ‎– FLAT 8211
Audio Source: audience
Lineage: Subway LP > Click Repair > Audacity > CD Wave
Total running time: 0:45:28
Sound Quality : noise ,dull ,but still good listened to
Attendance: 4.225
Artwork: yes.

This is indeed the same concert as the Joe Maloney recording of 16 July 1974. Not only that, it sounds very much like it was sourced from a copy of his tape. However the sound here is slightly more vibrant to my ears, and this is one of the earlier Bowie bootlegs, it is of historical interest.


The guy who runs the Bowie “Gouster” website – focussing on Bowie in his ‘soul boy’ years from 1974-76 – had noted this LP was from Boston 16 July. I was a little surprised, but he was right, it definitely sounds like the same gig!

I prefer this to the Joe Maloney recording as it sounds more vibrant to me, and the guitar is seems more audible or at least more ‘tangible’. The irony is not only is this recording from the same concert…it does seem to be sourced from the Joe Maloney recording, albeit from a tape copied back when the LP was pressed, in the 70’s.

Click Repair was carried out…some vinyl rustle is still audible but overall this a great sounding recording – a lot better than I expected!

Tour band 1974 (June – July)
• David Bowie – vocals
• Michael Kamen – electric piano, Moog synthesizer, oboe, music director
• Earl Slick – guitar
• Mike Garson – piano, mellotron
• David Sanborn – alto saxophone, flute
• Richard Grando – baritone saxophone, flute
• Herbie Flowers – bass
• Tony Newman – drums
• Pablo Rosario – percussion
• Gui Andrisano – backing vocals
• Warren Peace – backing vocals


COMMENTS 1 : Tim Bucknall
Queen Bitch in 74? now i am intrigued!
I the vocals are a bit too loud compared to the band and i wish they’d included Watch that man but overall i’m really happy to own this LP, Panic in Detroit is splendidly funky!

The first 1974 tour bootleg to appear, but venue unknown (last I heard, believed to be Clevaland 18/6/74, but wholly unconfirmed).

(Visited 1,204 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie 1974-09-06 Universal Amphitheatre, Los Angeles – LA ’74 – SQ 3 David Bowie 1974-11-18 Philadelphia ,Spectrum Theatre  – Uniondale ’74  – SQ -6