1973-06-22 Birmingham ,Town Hall (New Remaster -> Upgrade) – SQ 6

1973-06-22 Birmingham ,Town Hall (New Remaster -> Upgrade) - SQ 6

1973-06-22 Birmingham ,Town Hall (New Remaster -> Upgrade)
Sound Quality Rating

01 – Intro.flac
02 – Hang On To Yourself.flac
03 – Ziggy Stardust.flac
04 – Watch That Man.flac
05 – Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud.flac
06 – All The Young Dudes.flac
07 – Oh! You Pretty Things.flac
08 – Moonage Daydream.flac
09 – Queen Bitch.flac
10 – Space Oddity.flac
11 – William Tell Overture (Intro).flac
12 – Jean Genie.flac
13 – Time.flac
14 – Width Of A Circle.flac
15 – Band Intro.flac
16 – Let’s Spend The Night Together.flac
17 – Suffragette City.flac
18 – I’m Waiting For The Man.flac
19 – White Light White Heat.flac

Audio Source: audience
Total running time: 1:19:39
Sound Quality : Bad ,excessive noise ,extremely dull : can hardley be listened to.
Attendance: 1.450
Artwork: No
New Remaster -> Upgrade : Yes

Bowie was one of the many legendary musicians to have performed at Birmingham’s iconic Town Hall which has also hosted the likes of Led Zeppelin, Buddy Holly, Roy Orbison (supported by The Beatles) and Black Sabbath.

This tape seems to be very rare as it never appeared on any torrent tracker (it is also on dime now). The recording itself is almost complete as
only a small sequence of Width Of A Circle is missing at exactly 56:00 min.
What in my opinion makes this recording great is the atmosphere of the set, especially during more quiet passages. You can almost materialize how the fans are reaching out
their arms to touch David. Amongst others there are great versions of Time, Jean Genie/Love Me Do and especially Let’s Spend The Night Together with a big portion
of Mike Garson’s piano (who “is not really a Spider” according to David’s band introduction). The version of Width Of A Circle is one of the longest from that tour even as a small part is missing.
The sound is improving from Hang On… to Ziggy Stardust and later within Queen Bitch and again at the 2nd half of Width…
After 2 min. of Waiting For The Man I changed to only the left channel as the right channel became inferior in sound. This is maintained until the end of the recording.

David Bowie Tour Band – The Ziggy Stardust Tour

  • David Bowie – vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Mick Ronsonguitar, vocals
  • Trevor Bolderbass
  • Mick “Woody” Woodmanseydrums
  • Mike Garsonpiano, mellotron, organ (22 September 1972 – end of tour)
  • John Hutchinsonrhythm guitar, 12-string acoustic guitar (8 Apr 1973 – 20 Apr 1973 – 3 July 1973)
  • Geoffrey A. MacCormackbacking vocals, percussion (19 January 1973 – end of tour)
  • Ken Fordham – saxophone (19 January 1973 – end of tour)
  • Brian Wilshawsaxophone, flute (19 January 1973 – end of tour)

  • Robin Mayhew ,Will Palin ,Mick Hince ,Dean Heiser – Sound ,Ground Control ,Front of House Engineer ,Stage hands
  • Nigel Olliff, Nick Gilbey, Paul Normand and crew – Lights ,1972 Heavy Light ,1973 See Factor Industries NY Bob See ,Steve Hurston ,Mick Fussey
  • Peter Hunsley – Stage Equipment
  • Suzi Fussey – Wardrobe, Makeup and Hair


     david-bowie-birmingham-1973-06-22-black-country-rocks-2 david-bowie-birmingham-1973-06-22-black-country-rocks-1

    (Visited 35 times, 1 visits today)
  • Leave a comment

    david-bowie-LIVE-1972-FRONT David Bowie 1973-06-12 Chatham ,Central Hall (remaster of Noggin tape) – SQ 6,5