David Bowie I’m Only Dancing – The Soul Tour 74 – (release 2020)

David Bowie I’m Only Dancing - The Soul Tour 74 - (release 2020)

David Bowie I’m Only Dancing – The Soul Tour 74 – (release 2020)

Unreleased David Bowie concert tapes will be dusted off after 45 years in the vault and released for Record Store Day 2020, Parlophone has announced. I’m Only Dancing (The Soul Tour 74) puts the spotlight on the period between Diamond Dogs and Young Americans as Bowie began embracing the sounds of Philadelphia and emerged with a new reconfigured group, new stage design, and new songs to perform.

The 2-LP or 2-CD set draws from recently discovered tapes of performances at the Michigan Palace in Detroit, recorded in October ’74, and Nashville’s Municipal Auditorium the following month. The setlist covers the full range of his career to date, including tracks that would eventially be released on Young Americans, plus songs from Space Oddity/David Bowie, Hunky Dory, Ziggy Stardust, Pin Ups, Diamond Dogs, and a handful of covers. The music has been sourced from the best available tapes and while the press release notes that the tapes at times sound their age, the quality never detracts from the performances and the historical significance of these recordings outweighs any possible sonic imperfections.

You’ll only be able to find this set at your favorite brick-and-mortar shop as part of the Record Store Day celebrations on April 18. And, don’t forget, you can also pick up CHANGESNOWBOWIE, a 1996 acoustic radio show that we covered here. Keep scrolling for all the details on I’m Only Dancing (The Soul Tour 74) !

LP Side 1:

1. Introduction – Memory Of A Free Festival
2. Rebel Rebel
3. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)
4. Sorrow
5. Changes
6. 1984

LP Side 2:

1. Moonage Daydream
2. Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me
3. Love Me Do – The Jean Genie
4. Young Americans

CD 2:
LP Side 3:

1. Bowie Talk – Can You Hear Me
2. It’s Gonna Be Me
3. Somebody Up There Likes Me
4. Suffragette City

LP Side 4:

1. Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide
2. Panic In Detroit
3. Knock On Wood *
4. Foot Stomping – I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate – Foot Stomping *
5. Diamond Dogs – It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It) – Diamond Dogs *

Recorded at the Michigan Palace, Detroit on 20th October, 1974 and * at the Municipal Auditorium, Nashville on 30th November, 1974.


David Bowie – Vocals, 12 string acoustic guitar, harmonica
Earl Slick – Guitar
Carlos Alomar – Guitar
Mike Garson – Piano, Mellotron
David Sanborn – Alto sax, flute
Pablo Rosario – Percussion
Emir Ksasan – Bass
Dennis Davis – Drums
Warren Peace, Anthony Hinton, Luther Vandross, Ava Cherry, Robin Clark and Diane Sumler – Backing vocals

David Bowie, I’m Only Dancing (The Soul Tour 74) [Record Store Day-exclusive 2-LP or 2-CD] (Parlophone, 2020)

(Visited 475 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

David Bowie LiveAndWell.com Revisited & Expanded (Boxset) (1999) – SQ 9,5 David Bowie ‎Ouvrez Le Chien [Live Dallas 95] Brilliant Live Adventures Part 1 (2020)