David Bowie 1976-03-23 New York ,Nassau Coliseum - The Thin White Duke (version 1) - SQ -9

David Bowie 1976-03-23 New York ,Nassau Coliseum – The Thin White Duke (version 1) – Sound Quality Rating

01. Station to Station.flac
02. Suffragette City.flac
03. Fame.flac
04. Word on a Wing.flac
05. Stay.flac
06. Panic in Detroit.flac
07. Changes.flac
08. TVC 15.flac
09. Diamond Dogs.flac
10. Rebel Rebel.flac
11. Jean Genie.flac

Cher TV show
12 Can you here me (With Cher).flac
13 Young Americans Medley (With Cher).flac

Audio Source: Broadcast on US Radio’s The King Biscuit Flower Hour
Lineage: LP
Total running time: 1:34:37
Cover: printed full colour cover Records: 2 LP Released: 1976/77
Sound Quality : Equals record or radio apart from a slight noise and some dullness.
Attendance: 16.500

The second double album of this concert, and the first one with the songs in the correct running order. CAN YOU HEAR ME and YOUNG AMERICANS – MEDLEY are from Cher TV show. The MEDLEY in the middle of YOUNG AMERICANS is a whole bunch of hits from the 60’s.
The cover comes in two versions, one with and one without a printed back side. The printed back side has the same picture as on the THE THIN WHITE DUKE (1978). The cover with the plain white back side is the original one!

 david-bowie-the-thin White-duke-2 david-bowie-the-thin White-duke-3 david-bowie-the-thin White-duke-4

A truly magnificent tape which every Bowie fan should have,or should at least have heard!
It begins with the intro to Station to Station with Stacy Heydon raising hell on his guitar,reducing it to matchwood I bet! The audience is in a permanent frenzy; its sound is overwhelming. This version of Station to Station is a very long one (11:47 min) and when Bowie comes on this is marked by surges of roars.
Word on a Wing is beautifully sung,really splendid,and Stay is not bad at all.
The version of Panic in Detroit is incredible! This is sheer splendour. This is the best live version ever made of the number. Stacy Heydon’s guitar intro is a bliss and Bowie’s singing is great,but the one who really steals the show is Dennis Davis who releases a terrific drum solo while with his mouth and lips he produces the most extraordinary sounds! Absolutely incredible! Dennis Davis pounds out of his drums a 13:12 minutes version of the number. The audience love it and join in happily when Den­nis Davis invites them to clap along with him. Then Dennis gives a couple of raps on a cow’s bell and that is the sign for the rest of the band to join in again and close the number. So Heydon starts ramming his guitar again and the end is a perfect sequence of short,vigourous solos by each member of the band; Carlos Alo­mar also produces a fine piece of guitar work. “And that’s that” Bowie says after the band intro,“my name’s David Bowie,and this is called Changes”. Bowie must suddenly laugh while singing the first line,why I can’t tell.


The Tour Band – The Station To Station Tour
• David Bowie – Vocals, saxophone
• Carlos Alomar – Rhythm guitar, music director,backing vocals
• Stacy Heydon – Lead guitar, backing vocals
• George Murray – Bass guitar, backing vocals
• Dennis Davis – Drums, percussion
• Tony Kaye – Keyboards
The band became known as “Raw Moon”

• Vern Moose Constan, Rob Joyce – Band technicians/personnel
• Lonnie McKenzie, Leroy Kerr, Lester Burton, Buddy Prewitt, Larry Sizemore – Lighting technicians/personnel
• Buford Jones, Scott Wadsworth – Sound technicians/personnel

(Visited 303 times, 1 visits today)